Even good kids can make mistakes from time to time. Having a conviction
for juvenile delinquency on your child’s record may harm his or
her future academic and employment prospects.
Fortunately, these convictions
do not stay on your child’s record forever in Nevada. For the most part,
juvenile records are
automatically sealed when the child reaches 21 years of age.
However, the main exception to this rule applies if the child was charged
with any of the following criminal offenses:
- Sexual assault (rape)
- Battery with intent to commit sexual assault
- A violent felony
- Lewdness with a child
If a child has one of these charged on their record when they are 21 years
old, they must wait until age 30 to ask the juvenile court to seal it.
And if they have since been convicted of any other crime, the court may
not seal it.
Aside from those crimes, the Nevada juvenile court often will agree to
seal the record as long as the child has not since been convicted of any
felonies or misdemeanors involving moral turpitude and the child has been
rehabilitated. As soon as the records are sealed, the child never has
to mention them in school or job applications.
Keep in mind, the courts may inspect sealed juvenile records of defendants
under 21 who have been convicted of a crime. The court will take the record
into account when deciding the final sentence.
To explore the possibility of sealing your child’s juvenile record,
contact Oronoz, Ericsson & Gaffney and schedule a
free consultation with our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys today. Get decades of combined
legal experience on your side!