First-Time DUI in Nevada
Arrested for a DUI? Get Experienced Legal Help from Our Las Vegas Criminal
Getting arrested for and charged with a
DUI for the first time in Nevada can be a frightening and stressful experience.
Although a first offense is only considered a misdemeanor, penalties can
still be severe. However, an experienced drunk driving lawyer may be able
to obtain a complete dismissal of your case or negotiate a reduction to
reckless driving charge.
Oronoz, Ericsson & Gaffney, we are committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and freedom. Our
Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys can investigate your arrest, examine all of the evidence against you,
interview potential witnesses, and develop an effective defense strategy
to get the best results possible.
Nevada First-Time DUI Penalties
It is illegal in Nevada for someone to have physical control over a motor
vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Even if the driver is
not impaired and is driving in a safe manner, it is still per se illegal
to drive with a BAC of 0.08 or above or with a high amount of a specific
drug in his or her blood.
A first-time DUI with no serious injuries or death is a misdemeanor, which
is punishable by the following penalties:
- Maximum jail sentence of six months (however, the court often imposes a
suspended jail sentence so the defendant does not time unless he or she
violates a court order)
- Maximum fines of up to $1,585
- License suspension of up to 90 days
- Nevada DUI school
- Nevada Victim Impact Panel
Call (702) 904-8858 to Request a Free Case Evaluation
Our Las Vegas criminal defense lawyers can evaluate your case and determine
all of your available legal options to obtain the most favorable outcome.
Do not risk facing these serious charges without experienced and skilled
Contact us and speak with our legal team today.